NYC Trapeze School…..check!

So my first “momME-adventure” was a success, or should I say I lived to tell about it.  These days, that equals success in my book!

New York Trapeze School, how do I love thee (or not), let me count the ways……

First,  love was lost for thee…

1.  Because the waist belts were so freakin’ tight I felt like a Medieval mistress in a corset.

2.  Because chalk is not friendly to a girls skin or black clothing.

For these reasons, my tips for the future ‘momMe-adventure”, trapeze artists are to make sure you go to the bathroom ahead of time and wear white, even if it is before Memorial Day.

Second, I LOVE thee…

1. For your location (rooftop of Pier 40 on the Hudson River in NYC…..amazing views!)

2.  For your price (only $60 for 2 hours)

3.  Because the instructors were strong and looked good in tights (NOT!)

4.  Because although I missed the initial instruction while we were in the bathroom (reference tip above), we were afforded a recap (sort of, but who needs lessons, just go for it…… right?)

5. For the the adrenaline rush I got each time I climbed up to the platform and leaped off! Holy #$@&!!!!!!

6.  Because I was able to pull off each “skill” (knee hang, knee hang to back flip, knee hang to upside-down splits and the finale…knee hang to being caught by an instructor on the opposite trapeze!!).  Ok, I love “ME” for that part.

7. Because after a few post “momME-adventure” glasses of vino, I was (and still am) confident that the Big Apple Circus may come a-callin’ and  to be honest, I just might answer.

Enjoy the pictures and let me know your feedback.

Be Well,

Amy

Active Urban Mom

New York, NY

322703197932274322783228831981

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lyn
    May 22, 2009 @ 04:40:38

    That looks like a blast. I’ve always wanted to try it and I’m definitely putting it on the calendar now.

    Good on you!

    Reply

  2. Lloyd
    May 22, 2009 @ 12:26:59

    Amy, I am impressed even tho’ I’ve always known you were a maniac! Keep this older mommy up to date!

    Reply

  3. Jen
    May 22, 2009 @ 14:03:56

    Let me just say that this mama has some SERIOUS skills. I accompanied Amy for this evening of trapeze thrill rides, and I can attest that flying through the air with the greatest of ease is not as EASY as she makes it look! Until Circ de Soleil comes a knockin’, her daugher is darn lucky to have such a cool, brave, and aventurous active urban mom.

    Reply

  4. Kim Panzanaro
    May 22, 2009 @ 14:04:59

    Holy Cow!!! It looks like you had a blast. I’m not sure that I would ever have the guts to actually jump off of the platform, or even get to the top of the ladder for that matter…I am terrified of heights! So I am just going to have to live through your expierience. Way to go Amy Sap!

    Reply

  5. Wendy Villone
    May 22, 2009 @ 16:17:35

    super cool, what a great adventure.
    how about fencing? you rule!
    xo W

    Reply

    • activeurbanmom
      May 22, 2009 @ 22:27:39

      Hi Wendy! OOOO Touche!!! I LOVE that idea. I will look into it and update you if I can find a class I can take here in NYC. Thanks for the suggestion, keep them coming.

      Reply

  6. Liza
    May 22, 2009 @ 16:43:46

    Go Amy! Your energy and sense of adventure are impressive. Love the pics.

    Reply

  7. therosana
    Jun 07, 2009 @ 02:59:39

    you’re such a stud…that’s so awesome. i’m just trying to run three miles without dying…

    http://chroniclesofmomnia.blogspot.com

    Reply

  8. MOM
    Jun 14, 2009 @ 14:21:03

    THAT’S MY GIRL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

